Legend has it that the Church of Mary, as this church was originally known, was founded by St Stephen in 1015, though the earliest material evidence for a church on this site dates from 1247. The church was given its current name following the reconstruction of the southern tower in the 19th Century by King Matthias.
Badly damaged during the Second World War, the church was renovated between 1950 and 1970 with funding from the Hungarian government, with a further extensive restoration programme undertaken between 2006 and 2013.
Impressive from the outside, with its tiled roof and position next to the Fisherman’s Bastion, the interior of the church, with its painted walls and unique style, is also well worth visiting.
The church has had a fairly colourful history which is documented on its website – http://www.matyas-templom.hu . It is also mentioned in Miklos Banffy’s account of the coronation of King Karl in his book ‘The Phoenix Land’.